Honors Societies

Phi Eta Sigma

Founded in 1923 at the University of Illinois, Phi Eta Sigma is the nation's oldest and largest honor society for first-year college and university students in all disciplines.  Inspired by the past and dedicated to the future, the Society's mission is to encourage and reward academic excellence among freshmen in institutions of higher learning.  The three Greek words appearing on our crest form the motto of the organization: 'Knowledge is Power.'

Phi Kappa Phi

In 1897 at the University of Maine, ten senior students, two faculty members, and the school president created an honor society that was different from the few others then in existence.  They created a society that recognized and honored excellence in all academic disciplines.  Under the leadership of undergraduate student Marcus L. Urann, the group formed the Lambda Sigma Eta Society, which was later renamed Phi Kappa Phi from the initial letters of the Greek words forming its adopted motto: Philosophìa Krateìto Photôn, "Let the love of learning rule humanity." 

Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa Logo

The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the oldest and most distinguished academic honorary society in America. It was founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, and chapters were subsequently established at Yale in 1780 and at Harvard in 1781. In 1989 a Phi Beta Kappa Chapter--Beta of Oklahoma--was chartered on the University of Tulsa campus, the second to be established in the state of Oklahoma.